Home > Uncategorized > Photography and Birds

Photography and Birds

Cynthia enjoyed birds in the US, but she has become pretty hardcore since arriving in Zambia.  I am most interested in the big ones or the colorful ones but it has been growing on me also.  Now that I have new a camera, I am looking for subjects to photograph and birds are readily available.  For the last couple of days, I have been taking the boys to school, drinking a cup of coffee and then wandering around near the house searching for birds to photograph.  I am getting better and learning a lot.

Photograph: So far, this is my favorite.  This is a blue waxbill which is a common small bird around the house.  This photo hasn’t been cropped or touched in any way.  The manual focus of the camera allowed me to “look inside” the bush and focus on the bird while blurring the other branches, which produced a nice effect (at least I think so).

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. Paula Grubb
    August 30, 2011 at 2:12 am

    Hi, Love the colorful little bird. Can’t believe how the boys are growing and changing. Can’t wait to see you all before long. Time is going by so quickly. Your mom told me you had a great visit the your friends. She shared your pictures and your blog.

    Thanks. Love you all, Aunt Paula and Uncle Wayne

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

