Home > Uncategorized > Cheetah and other animals

Cheetah and other animals

  One of the reasons that I wanted to go to Hwange was to have the opportunity to see some animals that I hadn’t yet seen (specifically, cheetah, wild dog and gemsbok (an antelope with long straight horns aka Oryx)). We were up at the crack of dawn and loaded everyone into a single vehicle.  Adults got the cab and the boys got the back end of the truck with blankets.  Unlike other parks, you really don’t drive around to see the animals, you go to a watering hole and wait for them to arrive.  We saw lots of animals and I have included a few the best photos below.

  The highlight of the trip for me was seeing a cheetah.  I had resigned myself that I probably wouldn’t see one since this area was heavily wooded and there were large lion prides active.  However, a cheetah ran right across the road in front of us while returning to camp the first night.  Fortunately he stopped to allow me to get a photo (not great but not bad considering the circumstances).Best cheetah

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

